Commitment to quality through ISO standards

The ISO - International Organization of Standardization exists to promote internationally agreed standards of quality, safety and efficiency. Our accreditation to the ISO 9001:2015 for quality management systems means that customers can be assured that products manufactured at all our facilities will be to the same high quality.

ISO accreditation is essential for any global company that relies on its reputation for consistently high quality. It tells every potential customer that we are serious about high standards and that every product that leaves any one of our facilities can be trusted.

We also work to the Caterpillar Quality Management System (CQMS). A set of commitments that always equals and often exceeds the requirements of ISO accreditation. The system is based on 6 Sigma methodology of which there are three distinct phases that we concentrate on:

  • Prevention of faults or problems through robust component and process design
  • Control of the manufacturing process, for example through regular reviews of the day to day performance
  • Correction of any problems through continuous product and process improvement, achieved through constant monitoring
Certified ISO 9001:2015 Company
“By adopting internationally recognised standards, customers can be assured of the quality and integrity of the company they are dealing with. At Perkins we believe in reliable and consistent quality, and our accreditation to these standards reinforces that commitment.”
Adam Peake, medium engines Quality Systems Manager

Health, safety and the environment

Our Peterborough facility is also accredited to:

  • ISO Standard 14001, which sets strict environmental standards for activities like control of waste management and contamination
  • The Occupational Health and Safety Advisory Services (OHSAS) 18001 Standard, which is an internationally recognised British standard covering the health and safety of employees.

These standards provide reassurance to customers who are concerned that they do business with an ethical company that is aware of its responsibilities.

All of these standards, whether for quality control, environmental responsibility or the health and safety of our employees, reflect our determination to demonstrate that you can rely on Perkins for manufacture, for after sales service, and for an ethical approach to our business.

The highest standards lead to the best products and services.

Fast facts

The three key standards bodies to which Perkins is accredited:

  • International Organisation for Standardisation (ISO)
  • Caterpillar Quality Management System (CQMS)
  • Occupational Health and Safety Advisory Services (OHSAS)

6 Sigma: path to improvement

Path to improvement

6 Sigma is a well-established set of methodologies for driving continuous improvement in manufacturing and processes. At Perkins, it is integrated with the Caterpillar Production System (CPS) to maintain consistently high quality in all our products – your guarantee of excellence and reliability.

Learn more