PowerNews Industry News
PowerNews Industry News

SAE refines definitions for driving automation  

As driving automation continues to gather pace, the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) has updated its SAE Levels of Driving Automation™, writes SAE.org. These standards define six different levels of automation and are used industry wide.

In collaboration with the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), the latest version provides clearer terminology and more clarity for an international audience. 


Changes include:

•  Further clarity on the differences between SAE Level 3 and SAE Level 4.

•  Additional terms and definitions for two remote support functions: remote assistance and remote driving.  

•  The use of the ‘Driver Support Systems’ name for SAE Level 1 and 2 driving automation systems.

•  Classifications of sustained driving automation and definitions for vehicle types by groups.


Download the full version for free here

SAE J3016TM Levels of Driving AutomationTM

SAE J3016TM Levels of Driving Automation

Related Articles