PowerNews Industry News
PowerNews Industry News

Megan Tanel to succeed Dennis Slater as AEM president

Dennis Slater, the current president of the Association of Equipment Manufacturers (AEM) will retire at the end of the year. He’ll be succeeded by Megan Tanel, who moves on from her role as senior vice president of the association’s Construction and Utility Sector, reports Diesel Progress.

Slater, 63, joined the organisation in 1982 under its former guise, the Construction Industry Manufacturers Association (CIMA). He became president of CIMA in 1998 and president of newly created AEM in 2002.

Slater led a major transformation of the association, which has since grown by 50 percent to more than 1,000 member companies. 

Tanel, 48, joined AEM in 1995 as an intern. She quickly stood out as an impressive leader and progressed to her most recent role of senior vice president, Construction and Utility Sector. For several years, Tanel led on AEM’s exhibitions and events programmes. Together with her team, she grew revenue from AEM trade shows by 80 percent over 12 years.

Megan Tanel

Related Articles